The domain


Welcome in the smallest appellation from Touraine.

The wine-farm

Located in Touraine, in Esvres between the Cher and Indre river, Bernard and Michel Rousseau cultivate 19 ha of grapevine, mostly in the appellation Touraine Noble Joue. Winegrowers for 4 generations and attached to our wine growing region, we cultivate our vineyard on the integrated agriculture principle.

Grapevines are planted with grass to preserve the biologocal life of the soil, the grape processings are low-dose and in biocontrol in order to maintain the ecological balance. We associate tradition, modernity and creativity in the respect of our wine growing region to elaborate our wines.

Soils

We are located on a plateau above the Indre. Grapevines are mainly established on a clay-limestone soil (old lake limestone of Touraine characterized by stones and flint clay) for our breeding vatful and on a very pebble-strewn sand-siliceous soil for the others vatfuls.

These are ideal soils for the Pinots which found in here their balance and a perfect soil-grape variety alliance.

Touraine Noble Joué

It is a 3 pinots, known as « noble », blending:
• The Pinot Meunier : 50 to 60 % brings fruit.
• The Pinot Gris or Malvoisie : 30 to 40 % brings body and strength. It will give a sweet wine, called Malvoisie, if it is late-harvested.
• The Pinot Noir : 10 to 20 % brings finesse.

It is nicknamed « grey wine » because of its reflects. Production remains confidential since it is made on some forty hectares by 5 winegrowers.

The wine begins its production from the ninth century. It is told to be served on Louis XI table in his castle of Plessis les Tours. It expanded over the centuries, until its peak in the early 20th century. 1929 frost and phylloxera had a distructive effect, as the development of the Tours metropolitan area.
We need to wait until 2001 for the Noble Joué to be recognize as an AOC.

 

 

Malvoisie

Malvoisie is the name given to a group of grape variety which come from the same-name peninsula in Greece, in the south of Peloponese (used to be named Monemvasia).

This syrupy white wine faced a fashion in all Europa during the Middle Ages.

According to a popular region, Georges Plantagenêt, Duke of Clarence, sentenced to death for plotted against his brother the King of England Edouard the IX, would have chosen to die drowned in a baril of this wine. During the 19th century, Malvoisie was as famous as Noble Joué and was considered as the White Noble Joué. Nowadays, the appellation remains regional.

The word Malvoisie is used especially in the Swiss Valais, in Savoie and in the Loire Valley only for a wine made from Pinot Gris.

The grapes are small and compact, and the berries are pink grey.

Domaine


Bienvenue dans la plus petite appellation de Touraine.

L’exploitation

Située en Touraine, à Esvres entre les rivières Cher et Indre, Bernard et Michel Rousseau exploitent 19 ha de vignes essentiellement en appellation Touraine Noble Joué. Vignerons depuis 4 générations, attachés à notre terroir, nous cultivons notre vignoble sur le principe de la lutte raisonnée.

Les vignes sont enherbées pour préserver la vie biologique du sol, les traitements sont réalisés à faible dose et en biocontrol afin de préserver l’équilibre écologique. Pour l’élaboration de nos vins nous associons tradition, modernité et créativité tout en respectant notre terroir.

Les sols

Nous sommes situés sur un plateau au dessus de l’Indre. Les vignes sont implantées majoritairement sur des sols argilo-calcaires (le calcaire lacustre de Touraine constitués de cailloux et d’argile à silex) pour nos cuvées d’élevage et sablo-siliceux avec énormément de cailloux en surface pour les autres cuvées.

C’est un terroir idéal pour les Pinots qui trouvent là leur équilibre et la parfaite alliance terroir cépage.

Touraine Noble Joué

C’est un assemblage de 3 pinots dits « nobles » :
• Le pinot meunier : 50 à 60 % apporte le fruité.
• Le pinot gris ou malvoisie : 30 à 40 % apporte le corps et la puissance. S’il est récolté tardivement, il donnera un vin moelleux appelé malvoisie.
• Le pinot noir : 10 à 20 % apporte la finesse.

On le surnomme « vin gris » du fait de ses reflets. La production reste confidentielle puisqu’il est produit sur une quarantaine d’hectare par 5 vignerons.

Le vin commença à être produit à partir du IXème siècle. On raconte qu’il était servi sur la table de Louis XI en son château de Plessis les Tours. Au fil des siècles, il se développa, jusqu’à son « apogée » au début du XXème siècle. Le gel de 1929 et le phylloxéra eurent un effet dévastateur, tout comme le développement de l’agglomération tourangelle.
Il a donc fallu attendre 2001 pour que le Noble Joué soit reconnu comme AOC.

 

Malvoisie

La Malvoisie est le nom donné à un groupe de cépages provenant de la presqu’île du même nom en Grèce au sud du Péloponnèse (à l’origine Monemvasia).

Ce vin blanc liquoreux connut une vogue dans toute l’Europe au moyen âge.

Selon une légende populaire, Georges Plantagenêt, duc de Clarence, condamné à mort pour avoir comploté contre son frère le roi Edouard IX d’Angleterre, aurait choisi de mourir noyé dans un tonneau de ce vin. Au XIXème siècle, la Malvoisie était aussi réputée que le Noble Joué et était considéré comme le Noble Joué blanc. De nos jours l’appellation reste régionale.

Le terme Malvoisie est surtout utilisé dans le Valais suisse, en Savoie et dans la vallée de la Loire uniquement pour désigner le vin élaboré à partir de pinot gris.

Les grappes de ce cépage sont petites et compactes et les baies sont gris rose.